Youth pre-season fixtures confirmed

By SFC Media Fri 04 Jul U 18

Saints have had a number of pre-season fixtures for their Development Squad and Under-18s confirmed ahead of their 2014/15 campaigns.

A mixture of both groups will begin a two-week training camp in the north east on Sunday 6th July before Southampton face Carlisle United and Newcastle and round the trip off with a Sunderland clash on Saturday 19th July.

The remainder of the Under-18 group left on the south coast will face Torquay at Staplewood on the same day and time as the match with the Black Cats – both taking place at 11am.

Just two days after those fixtures, the U18s jet off for two weeks in Spain on Monday 21st July, where they hope to confirm three fixtures.

Immediately after the U18s return from their time abroad, the Under-21s travel to local side Eastleigh for a friendly on Monday 4th July.

Preparations for the new youth seasons conclude on Saturday 9th July when the U18s entertain Exeter City while the U21s visit QPR.

Venues for certain matches are still yet to be confirmed. A full list of fixtures for both teams is as follows:

Development Squad

Carlisle United (A) – Friday 11th July (11am) – Sheepmount Athletics Stadium

Newcastle United (A) – Tuesday 15th July (1.30pm) – Darsley Park

Sunderland (A) – Saturday 19th July (11am) – Academy of Light

Eastleigh (A) – Monday 4th August (7pm) – Silverlake Stadium

QPR (A) – Saturday 9th August (12pm) – Imperial College Sports Ground

Under-18s

Torquay (H) – Saturday 19th July (11am) – Staplewood

Spain training camp – Monday 21st July to Wednesday 3rd August (fixtures and venues TBC)

Exeter City (H) – Saturday 9th August (12pm) – Staplewood

Academy Focus: Oludare Olufunwa
U 18

Academy Focus: Oludare Olufunwa

Southampton Under-18s defender Oludare Olufunwa faces the Academy Focus spotlight.

Fri 25 Aug
Academy Focus: Dan Bartlett Saints' under-18 Premier League Cup group confirmed
Forward pairing look towards Youth Cup tie
Blackpool v Saints

Forward pairing look towards Youth Cup tie

Youngsters Michael Obafemi and Jonathan Afolabi preview Blackpool clash.

2 hours ago
Sims encouraged as comeback continues U18 Preview: Blackpool vs Saints